Recoil Magazine Debacle

The  issue of the comments made by the Recoil Magazine editor has really exploded. I’ve been following the comments made by everyone and made a few of my own. I’ve had some time to think about it and wanted to put some ideas out there.

First off, the words alone weren’t that detrimental. Don’t get upset…I’m not done. It was a stupid comment made by someone that doesn’t have a clue what the Second Amendment is all about, is uneducated in the industry which he writes about, and has no idea of the temperament or beliefs of those in his target market. To make Jerry Tsai the editor…well, truth be told to be an editor (making sure the articles and photos all fit a similar format) you don’t have to care one way or the other for the industry covered by the magazine. A “good” firearm’s magazine editor will be extremely knowledgeable not only in the going’s and coming’s of the firearm industry but in the way his readers think about the weapons, the politics surrounding the industry, and the thoughts of the people involved. Jerry Tsai is, evidently, not one of these editors.

Among us in the gun culture we take our rights very seriously. Why? Because we have had to fight for those rights at every turn. We take any small affront to those rights like, “no sporting purpose” very seriously. Now why do we consider it an affront? It’s not because the words themselves hold massive insults. It does hold several other things though. It holds proof of the ignorance in Recoil magazine’s target market. The fact that it was simply information that was “passed along” shows the article was written quick and dirty. There was no effort put into this article. Lets face it…if you’re passing along what a German company says…German…they don’t have a 2nd Amendment like ours. They don’t see civilian gun ownership the same way we do. To pass that quote along without qualifying it with a rebuttal statement is nothing short of journalistic laziness. From a “now and again” article writer I could understand some of it. But for this to come from the editor of the magazine is unforgivable. It speaks ill, not just of the editor, but of the owners of the parent company, and all the writers of the magazine. If the editor is this lazy, what about the rest of the writers?

Amendment II

A well regulated militia, being necessary to the security of a free state, the right of the people to keep and bear arms, shall not be infringed.

Nowhere in the 2nd Amendment does it say anything about needing a sporting purpose for firearm ownership. It’s the means of retaining our freedom. Because we have an armed citizenry the government can only push us so far. We The People have the means to take back the liberties lost to a corrupt government. THAT is the reason for the 2nd Amendment. Our founding fathers knew what it was like to be pushed around by the government. For many it was the reason they left their home countries. They thought they were free from that with an ocean separating them from their oppressors, only to have the oppressors come to them to up the ante. There had to be something in place so the people could both prevent tyranny from happening and to throw off any tyrannical government that may arise. To call it anything less cheapens the blood sacrificed to gain our freedom.

So this whole thing comes down a simple act of stupidity and laziness. They burned their bridges with the very people who’s patronage pays their wages. We fight too hard against our own liberal side of government, now the U.N., and every other ridiculous country that doesn’t like our way of life to put up with this kind of crap out the very people that are supposed to be on our side.

Listen, with the original comments, Mr. Tsai then doubling down on his original comments, then coming out with a weak, backhanded attempt at an apology I personally, and Crusader Weaponry with me, can not support Recoil magazine. We are always looking for firearm publications to review one piece of our work or another but we will not be contacting Recoil magazine for anything. We won’t have our good name sullied in a test and review article or as an advertiser by being seen in their gun rag.

I will offer this piece of friendly advise to Recoil magazine’s parent company. There is no coming back with Mr. Tsai as editor. To gain your reputation back y0u must go out of your way to become a better magazine. Tsai has to go, sorry to say. You will need new writers. Good “Gunnies” that will do honest reviews (good or bad). You’ll need a stanch outlook on the 2nd Amendment. This isn’t up for negotiation. Gather all three and you may gain back readers. Fail to do so and you may as well turn off the presses and turn out the lights. Oh, and a new name couldn’t hurt.

7 thoughts on “Recoil Magazine Debacle

  1. Good piece. Bravo.

    Although… I disagree about the name. I think it’s actually a pretty good name for a “gun lifestyle” magazine. Too bad they went and tarnished it (that’s likely what you meant).

  2. I agree the magazine just cut its own throat. The owners obviously didn’t care or they would have paid closer attention.
    Now for you! There is one, repeat, ONE comma in the Second Amendment. It is after the word state. It is a common error. Even the NRA prints it wrong. Wayne is far too arrogant to admit a mistake. I thought a fanatic such as you would know better. Just yankin your chain Dude. I would not have known but I once had a photo copy of the Bill Of Rights. I think I got it from Neal Knox.

    1. I’ll take the blame for the comma. I did a “copy & paste” and didn’t do spell check. Apologies all the way around.

      Now see, Recoil…that’s called accountability. Say it with me now.
      A.c.c.o.u.n.t.a.b.i.l.i.t.y.
      There ya go….

  3. First off I would like to say superb blog! I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to find out how you center yourself and clear your head prior to writing. I’ve
    had a tough time clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out there.

    I do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to be lost simply just
    trying to figure out how to begin. Any recommendations or tips?
    Appreciate it!

    1. That’s a tough one. I usually have my kids running around while I’m writing. I wouldn’t exactly call myself “centered” while writing. That’s probably why I’m still trying to finish my first book. My biggest tip is just to write when the inspiration hits. I’ve had several posts that never make it past the draft stage because I’m trying to force it. Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

