Natural Carry

A while back I put together a video in which I discussed what I call “Natural Carry” as a means of concealing a weapon. However the video was done in my workshop and was poor enough quality that I took it down and deleted it. I’ve heard other speak of it in recent months by the name “Appendix Carry”. By either name it is a great way to carry and I’m glad other voices, stronger more well known voices, are carrying it to more ears. Uncomfortable while in a car or at an office desk…well yeah, I’ll give you that one. For the rest of the time it’s great. But there’s another advantage to it. Your draw becomes easier and quicker because it’s a natural motion instead of reaching for and drawing up your hem line. The term of “Natural Carry” came from thenatural draw. Not all pistols are compatible with it for concealment. It tends to be more comfortable as well as usable with smaller pistols because longer grips, like on the 1911, stick out from the hip too much.

Try it out. See if it works for you. Above all else…carry.

3 thoughts on “Natural Carry

  1. That’s where the value of the Ed Brown bobtail on the 1911 really shows. I carry a bobtail Commander 1911 appendix IWB, and once you get the holster height and angle just right, it’s quite comfortable to wear while sitting.

    Appendix carry works great for women with the right shirt. The drape of the fabric from the bustline helps conceal larger guns.

  2. Absolutely, Hecate. Great reply. We seldom get a woman’s view here so thanks much for commenting. The bobtail really does wonders for the profile of the grip. If you don’t mind, what IWB holster do you use?

  3. I have a Kellogg Custom Megan Magnum with a cant similar to what they now sell as a Mike Magnum. More and more, though, I find myself using my Comp-Tac Minotaur Spartan because the ride and cant is so easily adjustable for different clothing and circumstances.

    Yeah, I have a whole box-o-holsters that seemed like a good idea at the time . . .

Leave a Reply

